The Birdhouse

what I'm writing in

Here's a quick tour through my current collection of journals and how I like to use them :)

journal

While I used to be a One Journal Fits All type of girl, my main journal has taken on a diary/documenting purpose these days. My diary is a brandless lined notebook (about the size of a classic Moleskine) and is hardcover with a strap, large pocket in the back, and a pen loop. I use this journal to talk about my day, scrapbook, doodle, and keep memories. This is my largest of the 7 journals I've completed since picking up journaling as a serious hobby about two years ago, so I don't write in it every day, but I enjoy collecting tags and random bits to add to it when I get the chance to sit down and write. In the pen loop, I keep a ballpoint I got from my work last year. It gets the job done, as long as you squiggle out a few lines in the margins first.

sketchbook

My sketchbook is a bright orange A6 Leuchtturum1917 with blank pages. I bought this sketchbook at the art store in the Penland School of Craft in North Carolina, so the inside and outside covers boast plenty of stickers from the trip. I enjoy carrying this sketchbook around with me thanks to the small size, but mostly draw at home. I attached a black brush pen to the sketchbook by threading the loop on the end of it through one of the two bookmarks. I use this black brush pen daily, and Tombow brush pens when I feel like drawing in color. This is my first time having a dedicated sketchbook in a long time, and I'm really enjoying it! I have another of these notebooks in softcover from the same brand wrapped up for use after this one is completed. I use the pocket in the back for storing paper goods from my trip to North Carolina and other design inspiration.

notebook

For school, I use a green Decomposition Book for all of my notes. I decorated the front with a few stickers and write in it with a free pen I got from my university orientation over a year ago (I plan on using this cheap pen until it spurts to death in my hands). I enjoy the sturdy cover and adorable inside cover illustrations. The paper is thin but takes ink well, and is wide enough for my slanted handwriting. Very reliable and takes a good beating in my backpack!

miscellaneous

For grocery lists, to-dos, and other random notes, I use an Anne Taintor brand softcover notebook. It fits in my pocket, and is a few centimeters larger than a standard Field Notes. The front cover has an illustration of a smug woman with the caption "This is the last time I come to work sober." My girlfriend bought it for me from a farmer's market because she thought I'd find it funny, and she was right. This notebook also takes a beating from me, as I frequently fold it and bend it while crossing off items from my list in the grocery store. For this notebook, I usually grab whatever pen is nearest. If it works, it'll do just fine.

I have an addiction and I don't care.